ATG NEWS RELEASE: Multiple sex offenders charged with failing to register location

Posted on Dec 7, 2016 in Latest News

HONOLULU – Attorney General Doug Chin announced that the Department of the Attorney General has charged Calvin Kuahiwinui, Jarvis Pilago II, Robert Caspino, Travis Baqui, and Troy Pacheco with failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements. These individuals were charged between August and November of this year. Bench warrants have been issued for their arrests.

These individuals are not currently in custody and their photographs are attached to this news release. Anyone with information that could help locate them should call the Investigations Division of the Department of the Attorney General at (808) 586-1240.

Kuahiwinui was convicted of sexual assault in the third degree in 1996 and sentenced to five years of imprisonment. Following his release from prison, Kuahiwinui was required to register as a sex offender. In May of this year he failed to report a change in his address within three days of the change, and in October he failed to report in person to the chief of police or the attorney general, during the 30-day period following his birthdate. Kuahiwinui was charged with two counts of failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements on November 30, 2016.

Pilago was convicted in 2010 of forcible sodomy in Missouri, the result of a court martial while he was enlisted in the U.S. Army. Based on this conviction he was required to register as a covered offender. Pilago moved from his registered address in January 2015 and did not notify the attorney general or Hawaii criminal justice data center within 3 days of the change. He also did not report to the chief of police for his in person update within 30 days of his birth date in 2015. Pilago was charged on September 7, 2016 with two counts of failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements.

Caspino was convicted of two counts of sexual assault in the third degree in 2005. He also has prior convictions for 14 counts of forgery in 2003, convictions for theft in the second degree in 2003, abuse of a family or household member in 1993, assault in the third degree in 2003, and harassment in 1990. Caspino failed to report to the chief of police for his in person update within 30 days of his birth date in 2014 and 2015. He was charged on August 30, 2016 with two counts of failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements.

Baqui was convicted of four counts of sexual assault in the second degree and two counts of sexual assault in the third degree in 2005. He also has prior convictions for abuse of a family or household member, harassment, and hindering prosecution. Due to his sexual assault convictions, he was required to register as a sex offender following his release from prison. Baqui moved from his registered address in December 2015 and failed to report his new address within 3 days of the change. He also failed to report in person to the chief of police within 30 days of his birth date in 2015. He was charged with two counts of failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements on November 29, 2016.

Pacheco was convicted of seven counts of sexual assault in the third degree as well as attempted sexual assault in the third degree in 2008. His sexual assault offenses involved two minors under the age of 14. Pacheco also has felony convictions for theft in the second degree in 1998 and motor vehicle theft in 1996. Due to his sexual assault convictions, Pacheco was required to register as a sex offender following his release from prison. He moved from his registered address prior to July 23, 2014 and failed to report in person to the chief of police within 30 days of his birth date in 2014, 2015 and 2016. He was charged with four counts of failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements on November 10, 2016.

Attorney General Chin said “The Department of the Attorney General continues to track down and charge sex offenders who do not comply with registration requirements. We have charged over fifteen of these offenders since this time last year.”

In December 2015, 80% of covered offenders complied with registration requirements. That has increased to an 86% compliance rate as of December 2016.

Failure to comply with covered offender registration requirements is a class C felony which carries a maximum sentence of 5 years.

All defendants are presumed innocent unless and until they are found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

Attorney General Chin reminds the public that they can view an online directory of Hawaii registered sex offenders and other covered offenders, and sign-up for email alerts through the Department’s award-winning “Hawaii Sex Offender Search” mobile app. Those without a mobile device can also view an online directory of Hawaii registered sex offenders and other covered offenders, and sign up for email alerts at http://sexoffenders.ehawaii.gov.

IOS: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hawaii-sex-offender-search/id789745370?mt=8

Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ehawaii.sex_offender_search

# # #

For more information, contact:

Joshua A. Wisch

Special Assistant to the Attorney General

Phone: (808) 586-1284

Email: joshua.a.wisch@hawaii.gov

Web: http://ag.hawaii.gov

Twitter: @ATGHIgov