DLIR NEWS RELEASE: Minimum wage to increase to $9.25 in 2017Posted on Dec 30, 2016 in Latest Department News
Minimum Wage Will Rise to $10.10 in 2018
HONOLULU — The Hawaii State Department of Labor & Industrial Relations (DLIR) today announced that per Act 82, Session Laws of Hawaii (2014), the minimum wage for most employers will increase to $9.25 per hour beginning on Jan. 1, 2017. This is third rise in the minimum wage since 2015: from $7.25 to $7.75 on Jan. 1, 2015, and to $8.50 on Jan. 1, 2016. The next scheduled raise is Jan. 1, 2018 when it will increase to $10.10. Previously, the minimum wage had stayed the same for eight years ($7.25 Jan. 1, 2007—Jan. 1, 2015).
Hawaii’s unemployment rate was 3.0% in November while the record labor force included 696,850.
For more information about minimum wage, please visit:
Equal Opportunity Employer/Program
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-8866
# # #
View DLIR news releases:
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations