USAG NEWS RELEASE: Army to comply with Hawaii tobacco lawPosted on Dec 30, 2015 in Latest Department News, Newsroom, Office of the Governor Press Releases
SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, Hawaii (Dec. 30, 2015) -The U.S. Army in Hawaii has enacted a policy effective Jan. 1, 2016, that complies with the new Hawaii state smoking law.
The new state law raises the minimum age to purchase, possess or consume a tobacco product from 18 to 21 years of age. The law also makes it illegal to sell or furnish a tobacco product in any shape or form to anyone under 21.
The new Army policy applies to all individuals on Army installations in Hawaii, and includes the following prohibitions:
– Persons under 21 years of age may not purchase any tobacco product or electronic smoking device.
– No person may sell or transfer any tobacco product or electronic smoking device to a person under 21 years of age.
– Persons under 21 years of age may not possess and/or consume tobacco products in public.
Individuals who do not comply may be cited by state and local law enforcement for violations of Hawaii’s smoking law and the Army’s smoking policy.
Additionally, the Office of the Secretary of Defense, as a matter of policy to comply with the Hawaii state law, has directed all Defense commissaries and exchanges located on places subject to concurrent jurisdiction in Hawaii not to sell or furnish tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices and smokeless tobacco, to persons under the age of 21, effective Jan. 1, 2016.
Tobacco cessation is a priority of the Department of the Army, critical to the health, fitness, wellbeing, and readiness of Army personnel. Tobacco cessation classes are available for Defense ID cardholders at Army medical facilities.
Information on tobacco cessation resources can be found at:
Check us out on:
How are we doing? Comments are welcome at http://ice.disa.mil, under
Pacific, Schofield Barracks, Information Management and then Public Affairs.